Compared, 30 August 2026
Online menopause care compared
Every fact in the table below was read off the provider's own public pages on 30 August 2026, and where a company does not publish something, the cell says so instead of guessing. The options with an affiliate programme behind them are marked, they are not at the top, and none of them is a link.
Free. No email required. No signup required. Takes about 2 minutes. Scored entirely in your browser: your answers are never stored or sent anywhere. Your score is shown next to the average for your age band.
The table
Who pays us here, and why none of them is paying us today.
Four of the six options below can pay us a commission, and every one of those carries a P. The remaining two earn us nothing.
The rows that earn us nothing are your own doctor and a directory that is free to search, and they sit at the top of the table. They are there because for most women they are the right first move, and because putting them anywhere else would be a lie about what this table is for. The build refuses this page if a paid option ever climbs above them.
The rest run affiliate programmes we would earn a commission from. What none of them carries is a link. We hold no brand approvals, so there is nothing here to click through to, and nothing on this page has ever earned a penny: even in the sources at the foot of the page, those companies are named rather than linked. The option that would pay us the most is not the one ranked first among them, and the build refuses to publish this page if that ever stops being true.
What a commission does and does not change is set out on the disclosures page.
| Option | Prescribes HRT | Insurance | States | From | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Your own GP or OBGYNNOT MONETIZED | Depends on the clinician | Whatever your plan covers | Wherever you live | Your plan's visit charge | The only one here that can examine you, and usually the cheapest. At 45 and over the guideline needs no blood test, so the appointment turns on how well you describe the pattern.1 |
| The Menopause Society directoryNOT MONETIZED | Depends on the clinician | Depends on the clinician | Searchable by country | Free to search | A free list of Society members that flags who holds the MSCP credential. A shortlist, not a verdict: the directory's own terms say being listed is not an endorsement.2 |
| Midi Health P | Yes | Most major PPO plans | All 50 | $250 self-pay first visit | The only one that says it bills insurance, with no Medicaid or Medi-Cal at all.3 That is the reason r/Perimenopause gives most often for choosing it: 367 posts against Winona's 57.4 |
| Hone Health P | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | $65 lab panel | $65 for the panel, then $25 or $155 a month. Whether the first consult is inside that $65 depends which of its pages you read.5 Will not say which states it covers or whether insurance is any use, and menopause is one door in a longevity brand.5 |
| Hers P | Yes | Not required, no billing stated | Not stated, and not all 50 | Not on its storefront | Estradiol as a pill, patch or vaginal cream, plus progesterone. The storefront names no price and no list of states, so there is nothing to compare until you are inside the intake.6 |
| Winona P | Yes, compounded | No, and it cannot bill | 37 plus Puerto Rico | Free visit, then $39 a month | More open about price and states than either Hers or Hone.7 It also compounds its own hormones, in 503A pharmacies its own page calls not FDA-regulated.78 |
Six columns are wider than the column of the page, so the table scrolls sideways inside its own frame rather than dragging the page with it. Every figure in it was read on 30 August 2026 from the pages listed in the sources, and prices in this category move. Not stated means the company does not publish it, which is a finding about the company rather than a gap in our reading.
How to read it
Four columns do most of the work, and they are the four questions worth asking any online clinic before you give it a card number.
- Insurance. This is the real dividing line in the category. Midi is the one that says it bills insurance.3 Winona says outright that it cannot,7 Hers says only that insurance is not required,6 and Hone does not raise the subject anywhere we could find it.5 Midi and Winona both take HSA or FSA money, which is not the same thing: an HSA card is your money, an insurance claim is somebody else's.
- Compounded or approved. Generic estradiol and micronized progesterone are FDA-approved products, and every paid option here lists them by name. Only Winona tells you where its own are made: its own 503A compounding pharmacies, which its page describes as regulated by state boards rather than by the FDA and so not subject to FDA approval.7 None of the others says it compounds. None of them says it does not, either, so it is a fair question to ask before the first prescription rather than after it.
- States. Telehealth is licensed one state at a time. Winona publishes a named list, Midi says all 50, and Hers and Hone will not say until you are inside the intake. If you live somewhere small, check this before anything else.
- The price you can find. Most of them put numbers on the page: Midi its visit fees,3 Hone its lab fee and its two memberships,5 Winona a price against every product.7 Hers showed us none at all.6 A company that will not name a price before it has your symptoms has told you something about how it expects the rest of the relationship to go.
One line worth carrying off this page whichever option you pick, and it comes from a provider rather than from us: hormone therapy is not FDA-approved for the treatment of perimenopause. It is prescribed off-label for perimenopausal symptoms at a clinician's discretion.6 That is normal medicine and not a scandal. It does mean that anyone promising you an approved, on-label perimenopause treatment is describing something that does not exist.
Why this order, and who paid for it
Nobody paid for it. There is no bid, no top slot for sale, and no link on this page for anyone to buy. The order comes from two things in this sequence: what you would actually be prescribed, and how much of what you need to decide is published before you hand over your health history.
That puts the unpaid routes first, because a clinician who can examine you outranks a video call, and because a free directory costs you nothing to try. Among the paid options it puts Midi first: it is the only one that says it bills insurance, it names all 50 states, and it publishes its self-pay prices.3 Hone comes next because every number it charges is on its own pricing page, even though it will not say which states it serves or whether insurance is any use.5 Hers is third: it prescribes the same estradiol and progesterone, but its storefront publishes neither a price nor a list of states.6 Winona is last, and not for being cagey, since it publishes more than either of those two. It is last for what is in the bottle: it is the one that tells you its hormones are compounded in its own 503A pharmacies, outside FDA approval, and the position statement attaches Level I safety concerns to compounded preparations.78
The one we put first of the paid options is not the one that would pay us the most. That is the ordering the build checks: if the highest-paying partner ever ends up at the top of the paid group, or if the unpaid options ever quietly drop off the list, the page does not build at all. It is not a promise, it is a gate, and it fails closed. It also refuses to build when the rate sheet is missing, so nobody can switch the check off by deleting the file.
None of this is a recommendation of anybody. It is a description of what these organisations published about themselves on one day, next to the one thing about us you cannot check from their pages.
If your check raised a flag
None of the online clinics is your route.
Unusual bleeding. A history of breast or endometrial cancer. Blood clots. Active liver disease. The possibility that you are pregnant. Periods that stopped before you turned 40. Any one of those and the question is no longer which subscription to choose.
It is the unpaid routes at the top of that table you want, the ones that earn us nothing: a clinician who can examine you, in person, and sooner rather than after a video consultation about a monthly plan. The Menopause Society's directory will find you names near you, and the symptoms checklist will give you a written summary to hand over when you get there.
There is no commercial link in this note and there will not be one. Sending a woman with a red flag to in-person care is not a thing anybody should be paid for, and building it so that it could never pay is easier than trusting ourselves not to take the money.
Common questions
Which online menopause clinic takes insurance?
Of the paid options on this page, Midi Health is the only one that says it bills insurance. Its own pages say it is in network with most, though not all, major PPO plans, that it cannot treat Medicaid or Medi-Cal patients even as self-pay, and that Medicare beneficiaries are accepted only as self-pay. Winona states plainly that it does not work directly with insurance companies and cannot bill your provider. Hers says only that insurance is not required. Hone Health does not mention insurance anywhere we could find on its own pages, so we do not know. Midi and Winona both say they accept HSA or FSA payment, which is your own pre-tax money rather than an insurance claim.
How much does online menopause care cost?
Read from each provider's own pages on 30 August 2026: Midi Health charges $250 for a 30-minute self-pay first visit and $150 for a returning visit, before any insurance. Hone Health charges $65 for its 50-biomarker lab panel, then $25 a month for its basic membership or $155 for the premium one, with medication on top. Its own pages disagree about whether the first consult is inside that $65: the home page says it is, the treatment page prices the panel alone and the basic membership sells the ability to purchase consults. Winona gives the visit free and prices medication per product, from $39 a month for progesterone capsules to $149 for the estrogen patch. Hers publishes no price on its menopause storefront at all.
Is compounded bioidentical hormone therapy the same as regular HRT?
No. Generic estradiol and micronized progesterone are FDA-approved products. Compounded hormones are mixed for an individual patient in a 503A pharmacy, which is regulated by state boards of pharmacy rather than by the FDA and is therefore not subject to FDA approval, as Winona's own pharmacy page explains. The Menopause Society's 2022 position statement attaches safety concerns to compounded preparations at Level I, its strongest evidence grade, citing dosing and purity questions and the unreliability of the saliva and urine tests often used to prescribe them.
Which states do online menopause clinics cover?
It varies and it is licensed state by state. Midi Health's help centre says it is available in all 50 states. Winona publishes a named list covering 37 states plus Puerto Rico. Hers says only that it is not available in all 50 and does not publish a list. Hone Health's terms say the services may not be available in your state and it publishes no list either. If you live in a smaller state, check this before you compare anything else, because it decides the question on its own.
Is hormone therapy actually approved for perimenopause?
Not for perimenopause specifically. Hers prints this on its own menopause storefront: hormone replacement therapies are not FDA-approved for the treatment of perimenopause but may be prescribed off-label for perimenopausal symptoms at a provider's discretion. Off-label prescribing is ordinary and legal medicine, and the products themselves are approved for menopausal symptoms. It does mean that any company promising you an approved, on-label perimenopause treatment is selling something that does not exist.
Do you get paid if I sign up with one of these?
Not today, and not from this page. Some of the options here run affiliate programmes that would pay us a commission, and every one of them is marked with a P in the table, with the exact count stated in the disclosure above it. None of them appears as a link, because we hold no brand approvals, so there is nothing here to click through and nothing on this page has ever earned anything. If that changes, the links will carry a sponsored tag in the page's code, this section will be rewritten, and the ordering will still be checked by the build rather than by us.
Know what you are asking for first
None of these options is any use until you can describe the pattern. Nineteen symptoms across four domains, plus your cycle, scored against the average for your age band and printable for whichever of them you choose.
The options at the top of that table are the ones nobody buys advertising for.
Take the 2-minute checkFree, no email, no signup. Scored entirely in your browser. Screening, not diagnosis. No link on this page is paid, and no provider has seen it.
How to actually get perimenopause care
What actually helps perimenopause
HRT for perimenopause
The symptoms checklist